Grace Jones vs. Lady Gaga

Lady Gaga may possibly be the biggest pop star on the planet right now as the current reigning queen of pop. But it seems the female Diva’s who paved the way for such a ‘creative’ artist to exist, are not fans of the ‘Bad Romance’ singer. And that’s putting it lightly…

Seventies icon and the original diva of creativity and some-what odd outfits (and that’s putting it lightly), Grace Jones, is the latest star to publically express her ‘dislike’ for Gaga. It’s clear to see that Gaga may be inspired by Jones. Why not? The woman’s a trendsetter and a legend. Jones however, sees Gaga as not so much taking her as ‘inspiration’ but more of an imitation.

Speaking to The Guardian on why she declined Gaga’s alleged offer of an alliance, Jones explained, “I really don’t think of her at all. I go about my business. I’d just prefer to work with someone who is more original and someone who is not copying me, actually. Well, you know, I’ve seen some things she’s worn that I’ve worn, and that does kind of piss me off. I wouldn’t go to see her.”

Her comments are similar to those of M.I.A, who in a previous interview also accused Gaga of “copying” Grace Jones’ style, as well as copying herself and Madonna, whist making “20-year-old Ibiza music” in the process.

So the Lady Gaga backlash continues. Well at least Madonna like’s her; two out of three ain’t bad. I’m huge fan of both Grace Jones and M.I.A, but my motto is, “continue to do ‘you’ and if other people don’t like it, that’s for them to worry about, not you.

 I initially wrote this piece for MTV  http://bit.ly/aRMHjL

One response

Leave a Reply

