Vanessa Laker Talks To KimberlyWyatt: The Interview

KimberlyWyatt: The Interview

I recently went down to the MTV HQ in Camden to interview the lovely Kimberly Wyatt. The former Pussycat Doll is promoting hit single “Candy” with UK rapper Aggro Santos. This interview was conducted on behalf of MTV: The Wrap UP and was originally printed on The Wrap Up’s website. 

 

Since 2005 Kimberly Wyatt has been dominating the charts and performing sell out shows around the world with former group The Pussycats Dolls. She’s sold millions of records and worked with the likes of Missy Elliot, Snoop Dogg and Busta Rhymes, to name a few. After leaving the band in January this year, she embarked on a solo career and is currently riding high in the top 5 of the UK singles chart with London rapper Aggro Santos – supplying the vocals on his smash hit ‘Candy’.

The Wrap Up: You’re branching out as a solo singer. How is it performing without the girls?

Kimberly Wyatt: I’ve been performing since the age of 7 now, so I feel at home on the stage. But of course I’m used to having the girls with me all the time, so right now everyday is a new experience. It’s super exciting. It’s been a roller coaster.
 
TWU: Are you enjoying being a solo artist?
 
Kimberly Wyatt: Being in the Pussycat Dolls was a great period in my life, those girls are my sisters. But it came to the point that I had to revise the situation. I was unable to grow creatively and knew that I would never be able to do the things I wanted to do whilst being in the group. Right now I’m enjoying the creative freedom I have and just being able to make the music that I like.
 
TWU: What kind of music can we expect to hear from your upcoming album?
 
Kimberly Wyatt: I really like electro and house. I’ve been experimenting with different sounds, which is really fun. I’ve actually got a mixtape out right now with a really good friend of mine Her Majesty And The Wolves. That’s a little taster of what direction I’m going into musically. But I’d say my new album is electro pop. It’ll be out quite soon.
 
TWU: You’ve achieved so much with the Pussycat Dolls, do you feel you can relax a little as you’ve already proved yourself as an artist or do you feel under pressure to match the group’s success?
 
Kimberly Wyatt: We really did so much together. We conquered the world. We’ve had number ones and sold out shows across the globe, which is great. But now I’m all about making music I like that makes me happy. I’ve got this saying; ‘Art before chart.’ I’m just having so much fun right now. I’m making great songs and doing great shows. I’m surrounded by so many down to earth creative people and I’m really growing as person and I’ve got the freedom to experiment creatively – something that I wasn’t able to do in the group.
 
TWU: You were recently a judge On Sky 1’s dance show, Got To Dance. How was that experience for you?
 
Kimberly Wyatt: OMG, I loved it. I’m a dancer, that’s where I started and I always try and stay true to my roots. Dancing is my passion. It’s what I’ve been doing for so many years. I feel like dancers are not given enough credit. In a live show the dancers are a huge part of the production, but for some reason they’re always at bottom of the pile and not given enough recognition. So I was honoured to be a part of the show.
 
TWU: After seeing you dancing in various music videos Robin Antin (founder of the Pussycat Dolls) asked you to join the group. Did you plan to get into singing and how did you find the transition?
 
Kimberly Wyatt: Ever since I started dancing my teachers told me ‘you have to be a triple threat.’ So although growing up I was primarily a dancer, I always sang as well. Before moving to LA I used to work on a cruise ship, where I used to sing and dance. So I’ve kind of pretty much always done both.
 
TWU: What do you like to do in your spare time when you’re not busy working?
 
Kimberly Wyatt: I absolutely love writing. It’s one of my favourite things to do to relax. I like writing positive things. I’m really into the world of social networking. I have a blog, Beautiful Movements (www.beautifulmovements.com) which is a place of self expression. I love literature and strongly believe that through words and self expression, we can get through so many things and conquer negative feelings by letting them out and not suppressing our thoughts.
 
TWU: When was the last time you got star struck?
 
Kimberly Wyatt: I absolutely love Missy Elliot. Even though we’re friends now, I still get star struck every time we speak. Just last week she texted me and I said to my friend ‘OMG, OMG look at my phone, Missy just text me.’ Yeh, I still get star struck.
 
TWU: Your current single with Aggro Santos is called ‘Candy,’ but what is your favourite candy?
 
Kimberly Wyatt: I love Startburst. I’m totally addicted to them.
 
Aggro Santos ft. Kimberly Wyatt: ‘Candy’ – is out now.
 

 

For more interviews and news on your favourite musicians and celebs go to MTV’s website www.mtv.co.uk and for alls things urban check out The Wrap Up www.mtv.co.uk/music/urban

One response

Leave a Reply

