Eminen Talks About Near Death Experience

Eminem is well and truly back, with a new album – Recovery – released at the end of the month and if predictions are anything to go by it will be the biggest rap album of the year. In recent times Em has gone through some tough times, but is now officially on a straight and narrow path after beating his demands.

While at the E3 video game convention, Slim talked to Showbiz Tonight about his fight with drug addiction and how an overdose left him hours away from:

“It took me awhile to admit I actually did have a problem,” the musician said. “In the hip-hop world that I live in, it can be mistaken for weakness and the last thing you want to do in hip-hop is admit that you’re weak. But if I didn’t admit I was weak with this certain thing I was going to die.”

And when asked if he had any advice for anyone going through the same situation, the iconic rapper gave a heartfelt and very honest response: 

“That’s a tough question. I don’t know how you avoid it. I mean, I could say the cliched things, make sure you stay on the right path, you make the right decisions in life. You know, fame is a funny thing, man, especially, you know, actors, musicians, rappers, rock singers, it’s kind of a lifestyle and it’s easy to get caught up in it – you go to bars, you go to clubs, everyone’s doing a certain thing… It’s tough.”

Eminem is arguably the best rapper of our generation. His impact in hip-hop back then and to this very day is ridiculously huge. It’s good to see he’s back on a good path. I’ve been a big fan of his since I was a kid and I’m really looking forward to hearing the new album. But most importantly it’s good to see things are going well for him in his personal life and he’s back on track.

Here’ some vintage Slim Shady. I remember watching this live 11 years ago. Wow! I can’t believe it was that long ago, time really does fly. Here’s Dre, Snoop and Em at the 1999 VMA’s. Damn I miss the rap days:

One response

  1. Eminen needs to be careful in all he does. As he gets older he should be wiser. Am not his fan but there are many who love him, so do your thing man.

Leave a Reply

