Tom Hardy admits: ‘I’ve had sexual relations with men’

British actor Tom Hardy has revealed he used to have flings with men in his younger days. The Inception star joked his bisexual past should not come as a surprise to anyone, saying, “I’m an actor, for goodness sake. I’ve played with everything and everyone.” The Hollywood heart-throb – who’s engaged to British actress Charlotte Riley – said now he’s in his 30’s, he’s done with experimenting.

Here’s what he told Now Magazine when asked if he’s had sexual relations with a man:

  “Of course I have. I’m an actor for fuck’s sake. I’ve played with everything and everyone. I love the form and the physicality, but now that I’m in my thirties, it doesn’t do it for me. I’m done experimenting but there’s plenty of stuff in a relationship with another man, especially gay men, That I need in my life. A lot of gay men get my thing for shoes. I have definite feminine qualities and a lot of gay men are incredibly masculine. A lot of people say I seem masculine, but I don’t feel it. I feel intrinsically feminine. I’d love to be one of the boys but I always felt a bit on the outside. Maybe my masculine qualities come from overcompensating because I’m not one of the boys.”

I think it’s great to hear a male actor speak so openly about this subject. There are a lot of double standards in out society. It’s widely accepted in the mainstream for a woman to speak about her experiences with other woman, but if a straight man (especially one who’s in the public eye) speaks about boy-on-boy action, it’s generally seen as a taboo. It’s very refreshing to see an actor being himself, rather than trying so hard to portray an image off screen.

2 responses

  1. Tom Hardy is a brave and honest man. It is good of him to speak out about his former relationships because it teaches other people to be honest too.By bringing things in the open, it makes it easier to have a debate.

Leave a Reply

