Lauryn Hill Getting Closer To Releasing New Album…

Lauryn Hill is one of my favourite artists of our generation and I was super excited when it was announced she would be performing a string of live shows this summer – I’ve been waiting for years for Lauryn to make a comeback, because no-one does it quite like L-Boogie. It has been over 10 years since she released the classic that is the ‘Miseducation Of Lauryn Hill’ and thankfully we don’t have to wait much longer for her highly anticipated and well overdue follow-up…

The ‘Ex-Factor’ singer told MTV US News that she‘s looking forward to releasing new material and teased that the project was nearly complete:

“We’re getting closer. We’re getting closer. That’s all I can say. It’s been such a long time since I’ve gotten my voice and my ideas out. In terms of collaborations, that’s not even something I’ve been thinking about per se. I’m happy that people are still making music. That we still have a platform with which to make music. It’s gonna be interesting to see what the future holds.”

Lauryn went on to explain that the industry has changed dramatically since she last released music over a decade ago, but said she’s embracing the changes and appreciating all the creative energy that’s around right now:
 
“It’s a lot going on. It’s interesting energy. It’s not what it was, it’s different. That doesn’t necessarily means it’s a bad thing – it’s a different thing. Just like any new opportunity, it’s ripe for a lot of different things. You’ve got a lot of young talent out there. Because we don’t necessarily have the same sort of industry complex that used to exist, people don’t always give, I want to say, proper respect. But they’re doing it in a really kind of unusual, unique and hardcore way. Because the system is not necessarily in place like it used to be. I have respect for what people do. I also like to hear the eclectics, I like to hear the mixture. There’s a lot of different creative energies out there right now. I respect the different sounds that I’m hearing.”
 

I can’t wait to here the new album. Welcome back Lauryn, you’ve been truly missed.

One response

Leave a Reply

