Kanye West Writes For XXL: “I felt Alone After Taylor Swift Incident…”

Last Sunday Kanye West returned to the VMA stage where he closed the show with a great rendition of new single ‘Runway’. Even though he gave a confident show stopping performance, it was evident the 33-year-old has changed immensely since he infamously staged crashed Taylor Swift’s acceptance speech 12 months earlier. With the huge backlash that followed after the uncalled for and image damaging stunt, ‘Ye was forced to reflect on himself and finally tone down his out of control ego.

West has publically apologised to Swift on a number of occasions – most recently on twitter – now the Chicago native has admitted that he felt “very alone” after receiving negative press and widespread public backlash following the 2009 incident. The Power rapper has written a cover story for XXL magazine‘s October 2010 issue and inside reveals he “wasn’t in a great spot” and had to take some time out to find himself…

“I knew I wasn’t in a great spot publicly after the incident, but I would just block it out and work as hard as possible and let my work be my saving grace. In a way, I had thrown a Molotov cocktail at my own career, and it gave me an opportunity, for the first time, to go away and find out who I was. Because I felt very alone,” he explained.

“I stress that the incident wasn’t about Taylor personally. And it definitely wasn’t about race. Where I messed up is, at the end of the day, it’s your show, Taylor. It’s your show, MTV.”

West went on to say he owed it to his fans and the public to apologise for his past behaviour and acknowledges he deserves a certain level of the backlash…

“The relationship with the public and with your fans is like the relationship with your girlfriend. How could I not, at a certain point, be like, ‘I’m sorry. I shouldn’t have been at the awards show. I’m sorry’?” he wrote. “Not that I don’t deserve to get beat up or change who I am inside, [but] to make sure that that doesn’t happen again.”

Leave a Reply

