Sugababe Amelle Berrabah charged with drink-driving!

Amelle Berrabah 

Sugababe singer Amelle Berrabah has been banned from driving for 14 months and fined £2,000 after being convicted of drink driving.

On September 23rd, the London based singer had an argument with her partner earlier and later on that night, in the early hours, was pulled over by cops in her Mercedes in Camden.

The 26-year-old’s lawyer told Highbury Corner Magistrates’ Court that she is sorry for her “exceptionally silly” actions.

Amelle took to her Twitter to reveal she had been out drinking the previous night, and was unaware the drink would still be in her system;

She Tweeted: “I’m so sad this has happened to me,” she said. “I got up to do my normal 6am jog. I’d been out the night before for drinks with friends and got stopped on my way to meet my personal trainer.

“And it was obviously still in my system. I’m soooo angry with myself. I felt fine and had a coffee.”

 

Amelle has been plagued with controversy throughout her career, since joining the band in 2005; In April 2007 she was arrested over allegations she assaulted an eighteen year-old girl in a Surrey club, but no charges were made. In January 2008 she was arrested on suspicion of causing criminal damage, but was later proven to be innocent. And the singer was recently in rehab, after suffering from exhaustion and depression, following the bands latest line-up change.

6 responses

  1. Poor rich Amelle will not be driving for a few months. Am sure this is not the first time she was drink -driving, so i hope this is a lesson to millions of other people who have always got away.

Leave a Reply

