Keri Hilson: “I’m A Freak…”

Keri Hilson’s latest offering “The Way You Love Me” has been causing quite a bit of stir for its explicit lyrics and sexually charged video.  During a recent interview with US blogger Perez Hilton, the R&B singer candidly speaks about her controversial new song, describing herself as “a freak” and stating she shouldn’t have to apologize for it…

“Perez, I don’t want to be held and caressed every night. Sometimes, I do want to be f*cked,” the 27-year-old star openly explained. “You want it good sometimes. I’m talking about one man in the relationship, not being a slut or a whore or being paid to do things.”

She continued: “It is racy but I can’t allow other people or the media to dictate what I can or can not do. We can’t approach art from a fear perspective. You have to be fearless and stand for what you believe in.

“I’m a freak, it’s no surprise. I’ve been a freak in other songs. I’ve been a freak in other videos and we should make no apologies.”

Although the explicit version of the song is used for the official video, the clean edit is the one which features on Keri’s album.

I’m a big Keri Hilson fan, but if I’m being totally honest I thought this video was just a bit too much. But hey, to each is own. Check out the video below and make your own decision.

2 responses

Leave a Reply

