Halle Berry Opens Up About Violent Upbringing!

Academy Award Winner Halle Berry sat down with CNN recently and discussed growing up in a household plagued by domestic violence. In her spare time she works with the Los Angeles Jenesse Centre, a shelter for domestic violence victims. This cause is dear to her as she witnessed her mother being abused by her father while growing up.

I think I’ve spent my adult life dealing with the sense of low self-esteem that sort of implanted in me. Somehow I felt not worthy. Before I’m ‘Halle Berry, I’m little Halle, who was a little girl growing in thisenvironment that damaged me in some ways. I’ve spent my adult life trying to really heal from that.I have a spot in my soul that understands the devastation that this causes a family and how hard it is to rebuild your self-esteem when you’ve suffered.

What is your message to any woman out there who might be in a relationship that’s abusive?
Get Out. Don’t stay a moment longer. If there’s no shelter, go to a friend’s, go to a police station, go somewhere but GO.

Words by Necole Bitchie

4 responses

  1. Many women die in abusive relationships, but recently there is alot of support for people being abused. Berry has done well to speak out and has proved that there is life after abuse. Thank you.

  2. Domestic violence should not be tolerated in any any relationship, so more people should open up about their problems, alot of help is available now.

  3. I merely wanted to thoughts your site and also claim that we really relished reading through your site write-up here. It turned out quite helpful and i likewise get how you compose! Keep it up and that i?lmost all come back to learn to read more down the road?( space )

Leave a Reply

